You are here:
  1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Our Council
  4. Boards and committees
  5. Legal Affairs and Policy Board
  6. Conveyancing and Land Law Committee

Conveyancing and Land Law Committee

The role of the Conveyancing and Land Law Committee (CLLC) is:

  • to review and promote improvements in all branches of land law, conveyancing procedure and practice and related matters, equal focus being given to commercial and residential property
  • to respond to consultation documents from, and generally engage with, outside bodies including inter alia, the Government, Law Commission, HM Land Registry and the Council of Mortgage Lenders
  • to assist the profession to adapt to anticipated changes in the conveyancing market including connected regulatory changes
  • to promote solicitors as the leading providers of quality conveyancing services. including assisting the Law Society with the development of any conveyancing products or services
  • to provide practical assistance and expert technical guidance to the profession through the production of practice notes, articles and other communications
  • to provide both a free pool of specialist expertise and a representative sounding board.

Who to contact

Governance administrator/committee secretary: Reece Shead
Policy adviser: Diane Latter


  • Russell Hewitson (Chair)
  • Peter Rodd (CM)
  • Ian Jones
  • Sarah Dwight
  • Philip Freedman CBE QC (Hon)
  • Laura Ford
  • Warren Gordon
  • Laurie Heller
  • Stephen Jackson
  • Alasdair Lewis
  • Mark Sellers
  • Nick Taggart
  • Thom Wilkinson
  • Dona Awano
  • David Steed

  • Meeting dates

  • 20 February 2018
  • 11 April 2018
  • 5 June 2018