You are here:
  1. Home
  2. Support services
  3. Events training
  4. Excellence Awards
  5. Excellence Awards shortlist

Excellence Awards shortlist

Congratulations to all the Excellence Awards 2016 finalists.

The shortlist is:

Awards for firms or teams

Excellence in Business Development

  • Aspire Law LLP
  • Cleveland & Co Associates Limited
  • Duncan Lewis Solicitors
  • Family First Solicitors
  • FBC Manby Bowdler LLP
  • GA Solicitors
  • Martin Searle Solicitors
  • Ridley & Hall Legal Limited
  • Watkins and Gunn

Excellence in Client Service

  • Cohen Davis Solicitors
  • Dawson Hart Solicitors
  • EMG Solicitors Limited
  • Gardner Leader
  • The Jackson Canter Group
  • Kinsey & Co Solicitors
  • Roberts Jackson Solicitors
  • Stuart Miller Solicitors Limited
  • Wollen Michelmore LLP

Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion

  • Berwin Leighton Paisner LLP
  • Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
  • Dentons
  • Latham & Watkins 
  • Paul J Watson Solicitor
  • Roche Products Limited with Byfield Consultancy
  • Travers Smith LLP

Excellence In-house

  • Action for Children
  • British Heart Foundation
  • Carlson Wagonlit Travel
  • Coca-Cola European Partners
  • GBG
  • Nottinghamshire County Council
  • OneSavings Bank Plc
  • Spire Healthcare Group Plc
  • Suffolk Legal
  • Travis Perkins Plc

Excellence in International Legal Services

  • Anjarwalla & Khanna
  • Burges Salmon LLP
  • CM Murray LLP
  • Centil Law Firm (formerly Colibri Law Firm)
  • Dentons
  • James Love Legal Ltd
  • Magnusson
  • PLMJ
  • Shulmans LLP
  • Travers Smith LLP

Excellence in Learning & Development

  • Bircham Dyson Bell LLP
  • Higgs & Sons
  • Hogan Lovells 
  • Palmers Solicitors
  • Paul Hastings LLP
  • Shakespeare Martineau LLP
  • Shoosmiths LLP
  • Simpson Millar LLP
  • Stephenson Harwood LLP
  • Suffolk Legal

Excellence in Marketing & Communications

  • Browne Jacobson LLP
  • Carr & Co Solicitors
  • Eric Robinson Solicitors
  • Giles Wilson LLP
  • Hogan Lovells 
  • Martin Searle Solicitors
  • Stephens Scown LLP
  • Wollen Michelmore LLP

Excellence in Private Client Practice

  • Farnfields Solicitors
  • Fisher Jones Greenwood LLP
  • Giles Wilson LLP
  • Hugh Jones Solicitors
  • Moore Blatch LLP
  • Pinney Talfourd LLP 
  • Randall & Phillips LLP
  • The Burnside Partnership
  • Thomson Snell & Passmore LLP
  • Wollen Michelmore LLP

Excellence in Pro Bono

  • DLA Piper UK LLP
  • Duncan Lewis Solicitors, Cardiff Pro Bono Clinic
  • Huddersfield Law Society Uganda Twinning Group
  • The Jackson Canter Group
  • Nottingham Law School Legal Advice Centre
  • Paul J Watson Solicitor
  • Simmons and Simmons

Excellence in Technology

  • DigitalLawUK Ltd
  • Family Law Partners
  • Fisher Jones Greenwood LLP
  • Labrums Solicitors LLP
  • Reed Smith LLP
  • Shakespeare Martineau LLP
  • Watkins and Gunn


Awards for individuals

Solicitor Advocate of the Year

  • Robin Denford, Bristol City Council
  • Simon Heaney, Heaney Watson
  • Simon Jones, Crown Prosecution Service
  • John-Paul MacNamara, McMillan Williams Solicitors Ltd
  • Adam Tear, Duncan Lewis Solicitors
  • Ranjit Uppal, Switalskis Solicitors

The Law Society Gazette Legal Personality of the Year

  • Marcia Willis Stewart, Birnberg Peirce
  • Susan Ridge, Army Legal Services
  • Sir Nigel Knowles, DLA Piper
  • Julia Salasky, CrowdJustice
  • Zoe Gascoyne, Quinn Melville
  • James Thornton, ClientEarth

Human Rights Lawyer of the Year

  • Andrew Arthur, Fisher Meredith LLP
  • Mark Stephens, Howard Kennedy
  • Adam Tear, Duncan Lewis Solicitors
  • Chris Topping, The Jackson Canter Group

Solicitor of the Year - In-house

  • Mark Beer OBE, DIFC Courts
  • Sophia Dirir, Action for Children
  • Tim Earl, Suffolk Legal
  • Mark Harris, NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership, Legal & Risk Services
  • Tabatha Mossman, Roche Products Limited
  • Rishi Sharma, InterContinental Hotels Group
  • Su (Sujata) Sharma, Skanska UK Plc

Junior Lawyer of the Year

  • Emma Brooksbank, Simpson Millar LLP
  • Keiley Broadhead, ACCA
  • Rhiannon Jones, Lester Morrill
  • Daniel Krigers, Chadwick Lawrence LLP
  • Shaheen Mamun, Milestone Solicitors
  • Laura McKoy, Farrer & Co LLP
  • Lois Kaylee Monks, JWP Solicitors
  • Rick Thomas, Shoosmiths LLP
  • Elissa Thursfield, Gamlins Law Ltd

Solicitor of the Year - Private Practice

  • Susan Bartfield, Lester Morrill
  • Melinda Giles, Giles Wilson LLP
  • John Halford, Bindmans LLP
  • Neeru Hutchinson, Appleby Shaw Solicitors
  • Caroline Landes, McMillan Williams Solicitors Ltd
  • Daniela Nickols, Mowbray Woodwards
  • Rebecca Stevens, Royds Withy King

Woman Lawyer of the Year

  • Lesley Fairclough, Ward Hadaway
  • Ruth Grant, Hogan Lovells
  • Charlotte Heiss, RSA Insurance Group Plc
  • Rachel Horman, Watson Ramsbottom Limited
  • Karen Jackson, didlaw 
  • Carolyn Jameson, Skyscanner
  • Sharon Needle, Needle Partners Limited
  • Carolyn Pepper, Reed Smith LLP
  • Ritu Sethi, The Sethi Partnership Solicitors
  • Elizabeth Warhurst, North West Leicestershire District Council


The Law Society recommends

Find a solicitor
Stand out to potential clients

Enhance your Find a Solicitor profile. It’s free to do – try it today.

Stand out to potential clients > More