You are here:
  1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Chief executive office holders

Chief executive and office holders

  • The Law Society has three elected office holders: the president, vice president and deputy vice president. They each hold office for one year.

    Each year the Council elects the deputy vice president; the previous year's deputy vice president becomes the vice president and the vice president becomes president. The handover takes place at the annual general meeting in July each year.

    The office holders are the Law Society’s main ambassadors and represent the organisation at home and abroad. The office of president is a full-time appointment and the president is chair of the Council.

    The chief executive is responsible to the Council and the Management Board.

    President - Joe Egan
    Vice president - Christina Blacklaws
    Deputy vice president - Simon Davis
    Interim chief executive - Paul Tennant

    President - Joe Egan

    Joe Egan

    Joe Egan was admitted in 1982 and set up his own firm in 1986, specialising in criminal law. Joe became the first solicitor in Bolton to achieve the right to appear in the Crown courts when he was granted higher rights in 1995. Based in Bolton, his firm has expanded to include matrimonial, personal injury, civil litigation and property work.

    For over 15 years, Joe has been joint honorary secretary of Bolton Law Society, where he was also a past president. Since 1996, he has represented solicitors in Lancashire and Greater Manchester on the Law Society's Council.

    Joe is a member of the Bolton College Audit Committee and is chair of Citizens Advice Bolton.

    More about the president

    back to top

    Vice president - Christina Blacklaws

    Christina Blacklaws

    Christina studied Jurisprudence at Oxford and qualified as a solicitor in 1991. She has developed and managed law firms, including a virtual law firm. In 2011 she set up the Co-operative Legal Services family law offering, later becoming their director of policy; and more recently she was the director of innovation at top 100 firm Cripps LLP.

    Christina holds a range of public appointments, including member of the Family Justice Council, trustee of LawWorks and council member for the Women Lawyers Division.

    Christina is vice president of the Law Society of England and Wales and will become president in 2018.

    She is an award winning published author, speaker and lecturer and frequent media commentator.

    back to top

    Deputy vice president - Simon Davis

    Simon Davis

    Simon Davis is a senior litigator at the London office of Clifford Chance after qualifying in 1984.

    He joined the firm in 1982 and made partner in 1992. He was the firm’s recruitment partner between 1995 and 2000, and spent two years as president of the London Solicitors Litigation Association.

    He won the 2017 presidential election and will be the first magic circle solicitor to take office since John Wotton, a consultant at Allen & Overy, who served in 2011-12.

    back to top

    Interim chief executive - Paul Tennant OBE

    Paul Tennant

    Paul Tennant OBE is a senior housing professional with 35 years’ experience, nearly half of which as a chief executive, and for 14 years as Group Chief Executive of Orbit.

    An experienced transformational leader, providing vision, ambition and direction, with a track record of achieving culture change, inspiring and engaging people. An innovative thinker challenging organisations to deliver more and drive changes.

    Paul led the 2020 Vision work for Orbit and created the transformation programme to deliver the organisations' targets.

    Paul has experience of influencing government policy and has held a number of external board member and representative roles and was invited to become a member of the Lord Heseltine Regeneration Taskforce. He is currently Chair of the Procurement Consortia and a member of the board of the Chartered Institute of Housing in Canada where he also lectures on transformation and culture change. He provides coaching to senior executives and retains an interest in social issues, notably child poverty as a housing ambassador for Child Poverty Action Group. Paul previously represented the housing profession as the President of the CIH and undertook numerous speaking engagements on a range of issues in the UK and abroad. He was awarded an OBE in 2016 for services to housing.

    back to top