You are here:
  1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Our constitution

Our constitution

Our Royal Charter still provides the constitutional basis for much of our corporate governance. The principal 1845 Charter provided for the incorporation of the Society and the establishment of our governing body, the Council.

Our regulatory powers have since been underpinned by statute: the Solicitors Act 1974, the Courts and Legal Services Act 1990, the Access to Justice Act 1999, and the Legal Services Act 2007.

Information about these acts are available on the Office of Public Sector Information website.

Constitutional documents

Business plan, annual report and accounts

The Law Society produces an annual report and financial statement each year.

Law Society annual review and financial report 2013

The Law Society Annual Report and Consolidated Financial Statements for the year ending 31 October 2013.

Download the report (PDF 617kb)

Previous annual and financial reports are available to download below.

Law Society business plan 2013

This document details our core goals and key strategic actions for 2013.

Download the business plan (PDF 105kb)

Memorandum of understanding between the Society, the Legal Services Board and the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal concerning funding and other related matters