Mental Health and Disability Committee

Mental Health and Disability Committee

This role of the Mental Health and Disability committee:

  • to keep under review and promote improvements in law, practice and procedure affecting individuals with disabilities and the mentally vulnerable
  • to promote and develop legal services to patients detained or subject to compulsory powers under the Mental Health Act 1983 or the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and to those within the categories referred to above
  • to review and advise on the role, design and operation of any relevant accreditation schemes.

Who to contact

Committee secretary: Caroline Lucock
Policy adviser: Leanne Maskell


  • Sheree Green (Chair)
  • Carolyn Kirkby (CM)
  • Caroline Bielanska
  • Tim Exworthy
  • Leigh Hogan
  • Janet Ilett
  • Nick Lewis
  • Nicola Mackintosh
  • Jenny Matheson
  • Paul McGough
  • Jennifer Nwachukwu
  • Juliet Oliver
  • Camilla Parker
  • Alex Ruck-Keene
  • Kathrina Salter
  • Lucy Series
  • Polly Sweeney
  • Carolyn Taylor
  • Lesley Turner