Doing legal business in Nigeria

The Federal Republic of Nigeria is made up of 36 states.

Abuja is the capital, although Lagos is the largest city not only in Nigeria, but in sub-Saharan Africa. Lagos is a significant regional commercial and legal hub.

Practising in Nigeria

Foreign lawyers are not entitled to practise law under home or other title unless they’re called to the Nigerian Bar.

‘Home title’ is the title granted to you by your home jurisdiction: for example, a solicitor of England and Wales.

Foreign lawyers wanting to requalify in Nigeria must sit a one-year conversion course at the Nigeria Law School.

Sign up to continue reading

My LS gives you exclusive access to the latest news, events, books and resources to help you excel within your practice.

Already have an account? Log in

Sign up

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS