Chief executive and office holders

President – David Greene

David Greene became our 176th president in October 2020.

David qualified in 1980, becoming a partner at Edwin Coe in 1984 and senior partner in 2011. David is a litigator and claimants' practitioner and has specialised in group claims for over 25 years in the UK and the USA.

Although he undertakes some personal injury work, David's focus is on commercial claims. He is head of the Litigation & Dispute Resolution Group and the Group Action Litigation department.

David is well known for his work on Brexit, having acted for one of the two claimants in the Article 50 litigation. He also chairs the Law Society Task Force on Brexit. He has written and lectured in the UK and Europe on the issues that arise in relation to Brexit and civil justice. He has also provided evidence to the Commons and Lords on those issues.

David has been a member of the Civil Procedure Rules Committee and the Civil Justice Council.

He has written and contributed to various books on civil justice and is consultant editor of the New Law Journal.

David's priorities

David’s main priorities during the presidential year 2020/21 are:

  1. upholding the rule of law
  2. access to justice
  3. ensuring the economic value and viability of solicitors to maintain a strong and independent profession

Read the full presidential plan

See the latest press releases, news and activity from our president

Vice president – I. Stephanie Boyce

Stephanie was admitted as a solicitor in 2002 and has a wealth of experience in corporate governance, regulatory frameworks and professional regulation.

Stephanie holds a Master of Laws in public law and global governance from King’s College, University of London.

Stephanie is a Law Society Council member representing the Women Lawyers Division. She is:

  • the past honorary secretary of the City of Westminster and Holborn Law Society
  • a solicitor member of the Joint Tribunal Service
  • a former member of the Law Society's Council Membership Committee
  • a former member of the Law Society’s Regulatory Affairs Board
  • an ex-officio committee member of the Women Lawyers Division
  • and former chair of the Conduct Committee

Deputy vice president – Lubna ShujaLubna Shuja

Lubna has been a Law Society council member since 2013 and chair of our key Membership and Communications Committee since 2018. She is also a member of the Law Society Board.

She is principal solicitor at Legal Swan Solicitors in Birmingham. She specialises in professional discipline and regulation. She is also a mediator dealing with civil and family disputes.

Chief executive – Paul Tennant OBE

Paul was the interim CEO of the Law Society from March 2017 before his permanent appointment as CEO in June 2018.

With Council and staff, he led the development of our values and purpose and the production of our five-year corporate plan.

He has led our focus on:

  • promoting the profession
  • influencing with real impact
  • improving communications with members
  • supporting practice excellence
  • being a companion as solicitors build their skills and careers in a changing environment

His background is as a senior housing professional with 35 years’ experience, nearly half of which was as a Chief Executive, with his last role as group chief executive of Orbit. He took an innovative commercial approach to maximising the housing association business model using direct development, joint ventures and partnerships to develop market sales, affordable housing and private rented sector homes. He was awarded an OBE in 2016 for services to housing.

Paul is an experienced transformational leader, providing vision, ambition and direction with a track record of achieving culture change, and inspiring and engaging people. He is an innovative thinker, challenging organisations to deliver more and drive changes.

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS