SRA competence statement

The SRA’s competence statement helps you meet the continuing competence requirement. It’s in three parts:

The statement of solicitor competence sets out the requirements for:

  • ethics, professionalism and judgement
  • technical legal practice
  • working with other people
  • managing yourself and your own work

The threshold standard sets the minimum level of competence needed for you to continue to practise. This is set at level three, which is also the standard qualifying solicitors are expected to meet. Your firm may set further requirements. The SRA also gives levels four and five for context.

The statement of legal knowledge sets out the knowledge that would be expected of someone qualifying as a solicitor. 

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS