Shortlist of celebrated lawyers for Legal Heroes awards announced

With one month to go until the ceremony (7 September), a shortlist of solicitors has been announced by the Law Society of England and Wales for its Legal Heroes 2023.

The 26 shortlisted nominees are from a range of different practice areas and career backgrounds. The nominees have been shortlisted for making a lasting, tangible difference to society and bringing distinction to the profession.

Law Society of England and Wales President Lubna Shuja said: “Congratulations to all our nominees. It has been inspiring to read so many entries which all showed the fantastic work done by many of our members. They are a testament to the profession.

“Solicitors are vitally important in the justice system. They provide valuable support and advice to people, businesses and the government. It’s important that we take time to recognise and commend their hard work and achievements.

“We are proud to announce a shortlist of amazing solicitors who have consistently gone above and beyond to make a lasting impact on colleagues and communities.

“I look forward to announcing the winners and celebrating their outstanding contributions at the Legal Heroes reception in September.”

The 26 shortlisted nominees are:

  • Aleksandra Kowalska
  • Belinda Knight
  • Clive Sutton
  • Crystal Dias
  • Emily Mcfadden
  • Helen AhmetJoan Scott
  • Jonathan Lafferty
  • Lisa Guscott
  • Lubana Kayani
  • Martin Whitehorn
  • Matthew Bell
  • Mellissa Akinya
  • Mohammed Zeb
  • Naga Kandiah
  • Niresha Umaichelvam
  • Parvien Akhtar
  • Qaisar Sheikh
  • Rebecca Craig
  • Reena Parmar
  • Ruth Camp
  • Sabeena Pirooz
  • Shabina Begum
  • Susan Harlow
  • Elizabeth Francis
  • Victoria Cromwell

Notes to editors

  • Legal Heroes 2023 – the event will be held at The Law Society of England and Wales, at 113 Chancery Lane, London

About the Law Society

The Law Society is the independent professional body that works globally to support and represent solicitors, promoting the highest professional standards, the public interest and the rule of law.

Press office contact: Louise Navarro-Cann | 020 8049 3715

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS