You are here:
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Blog
  4. Calling all ethnic minority and LGBT solicitors - your Law Society needs you

Calling all ethnic minority and LGBT solicitors - your Law Society needs you

19 April 2017

We want you to have your say in the work of the Law Society, and to help you get the maximum benefit from your membership.

One of the best ways of doing this is to register your vote in elections to the Council of the Law Society, our governing body. The Council acts as the voice of the profession, taking decisions on major strategy and policy. Elections are independently managed by Electoral Reform Services for the Law Society.

For some seats, like the Ethnic Minority and LGBT+ representatives we need your information so that you can vote for your Council members.

Joining our Divisions is the best way to let the Law Society know what you are interested in or what  you would like to know more about. Our Divisions, communities and networks offer targeted information and opportunities that can help you develop in your professional life.

Ethnic Minority Council Seats

Our ethnic minority members are electing 3 council members to represent them.

If you are a solicitor from an ethnic minority background, you can sign up to vote for your representatives, by registering with My Law Society and choosing your interests.

Signing up to the Division and registering for the Council elections is free and only takes a few minutes. 

How to register to vote:
1. Sign up for a free My Law society account. You’ll receive a verification email.
2. Verify your account and add your MySRA details to confirm you are a solicitor.
3. Choose Ethnic minority lawyers as an Interest.
4. This also signs you up automatically to the Ethnic Minority Lawyers Division, which is free. If you do not wish to join the division at this time, just let us know. You will still be able to vote for the Council seats.

Help us spread the word by sharing with all your colleagues and friends. The last day you can register to vote is 31 May.

LGBT+ Council Seat

Our LGBT members are electing a new LGBT+ council member to represent them.

To vote for your new LGBT+ Council representative, you must be signed up to our LGBT+ Lawyers Division. Council members must be solicitors so only Division members who are solicitors may stand for election.

If you are not currently a member of the LGBT+ Division, please email  to register.

We strongly encourage you to sign up by the end of May in order to vote for your representative.

Please note that the Council seats for the Lawyers with Disabilities division and Women Lawyers division, are filled (by Council decision) following nomination by the Division executive.

Your information

We also want to ensure we are Data Protection compliant, and that you know how we will use your information. We are asking that you follow this process so you are expressly opting in to receive information and communication from the Divisions.

 Dates for your diary

Last day for receipt of nominations:                                                   Weds 10 May (5pm)

Last day for receipt of statements and photographs                        Mon 15 May (5pm)

Voting papers go out                                                                          Mon 5 June 

Close of voting                                                                                  Mon 26 June (12 noon)

Tags: equality | diversity and inclusion | LGBT

About the author

Robert Bourns was the 172nd president of the Law Society. He is a senior partner at TLT Solicitors, where he specialises in employment law. Robert is one of five representatives for the City of London constituency, a member of the Law Society's Equality and Diversity Committee, and a member of the Regulatory Affairs Board Regulatory Processes Committee.
Follow TLT on Twitter 
Follow the Law Society president on Twitter

  • Share this page:

Abigail Bright | Adam Johnson | Adele Edwin-Lamerton | Ahmed Aydeed | Alex Barr | Alex Heshmaty | Alexa Lemzy | Alexandra Cardenas | Amanda Adeola | Amanda Carpenter | Amanda Jardine Viner | Amy Bell | Amy Heading | an anonymous sole practitioner | Andrew Kidd | Andrew McWhir | Andy Harris | Anna Drozd | Annaliese Fiehn | Anne Morris | Anne Waldron | anonymous female solicitor | Asif Afridi and Roseanne Russell | Bansi Desai | Barbara Whitehorne | Barry Wilkinson | Becky Baker | Ben Hollom | Bhavisha Mistry | Bob Nightingale | Bridget Garrood | Caroline Marlow | Caroline Roddis | Caroline Sorbier | Carolyn Pepper | Catherine Dixon | Chris Claxton-Shirley | Christina Blacklaws | Ciaran Fenton | Coral Hill | CV Library | Daniel Matchett | Daphne Perry | David Gilroy | David Yeoward | Douglas McPherson | Duncan Wood | Elijah Granet | Elizabeth Rimmer | Emily Miller | Emily Powell | Emma Maule | Floyd Porter | Gary Richards | Gary Rycroft | Graham Murphy | Greg Treverton-Jones | Gustavo Bussmann | Hayley Stewart | Hilda-Georgina Kwafo-Akoto | Ignasi Guardans | James Castro Edwards | Jane Cassell | Jayne Willetts | Jeremy Miles | Jerry Garvey | Jessie Barwick | Joe Egan | Jonathan Andrews | Jonathan Fisher | Jonathan Smithers | Jonathon Bray | Julian Hall | Julie Ashdown | Julie Nicholds | June Venters | Justin Rourke | Karen Jackson | Kate Adam | Katherine Cousins | Kaweh Beheshtizadeh | Kayleigh Leonie | Keiley Ann Broadhead | Kerrie Fuller | Kevin Hood | Kevin Poulter | Larry Cattle | Laura Bee | Laura Devine | Laura Uberoi | Law Gazette Jobs | Leah Glover and Julie Ashdown | Leanne Yendell | Lee Moore | LHS Solicitors | Linden Thomas | Lucy Parker | Maria Shahid | Marjorie Creek | Mark Carver | Mark Leiser | Markus Coleman | Martin Barnes | Mary Doyle | Matt Oliver | Matthew Still | Max Rossiter | Melissa Hardee | Michael Henson-Webb | Neil Ford | Nick Denys | Nick O'Neill | Nick Podd | Nigel West | Nikki Alderson | Oz Alashe | Paris Theodorou | Patrick Wolfe | Paul Rogerson | Pearl Moses | Penny Owston | Peter Wright | Philippa Southwell | Preetha Gopalan | Prof Sylvie Delacroix | Rachel Brushfield | Rafie Faruq | Ranjit Uppal | Ravi Naik | Remy Mohamed | Richard Collier | Richard Coulthard | Richard Heinrich | Richard Mabey | Richard Messingham | Richard Miller | Richard Roberts | Rita Gupta | Rob Cope | Robert Bourns | Robert Forman | Robin Charrot | Rosa Coleman | Rosy Rourke | Sachin Nair | Saida Bello | Sally Azarmi | Sally Woolston | Sam De Silva | Sara Chandler | Sarah Austin | Sarah Crowe | Sarah Henchoz | Sarah Smith | Shereen Semnani | Shirin Marker | Siddique Patel | Simon Day | Sofia Olhede | Sonia Aman | Sophia Adams Bhatti | Sophie O'Neill-Hanson | Steve Deutsch | Steve Thompson | Stuart Poole-Robb | Sue James | Susa | Susan Kench | Suzanne Gallagher | The Law Society Digital and Brand team | Tom Chapman | Tom Ellen | Tony Roe | Tracey Calvert | Umar Kankiya | Vanessa Friend | Vicki Butler | Vidisha Joshi | William Li | William McSweeney

Monthly archives

January 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015