You are here:
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Stories
  4. Preliminary notice of council elections 2018

Preliminary notice of council elections 2018

5 April 2018

Preliminary notice is hereby given, in accordance with Bye-Law 49, that elections of members of the Council will shortly be taking place for the following constituencies, which will fall vacant on the expiry of the terms of office of the current Council member at the Annual General Meeting on 5 July 2018:

Geographical constituencies

Title of constituencyNo. of vacanciesCurrent member
1Central and South Middlesex1Michael Garson
2The City of London2Simon Davis and Deborah Prince
5West London1Lucy Scott-Moncrieff
6North Middlesex1Michael Singleton
7South London1David Taylor
8City of Westminster1Nehal Vasani
9Croydon and North Kent1Casual vacancy until July 2019
15Berkshire1Razi Shah
18West Country and Gwent1Steven Hudson
19South Wales1David Dixon
23Birmingham and District1Mary Kaye
27Manchester, Salford, Stockport and District1Steve Kuncewicz
28Central Lancashire and Northern Greater Manchester1Casual vacancy until July 2019
30Northumbria1Allan Devine
31Yorkshire1Peter Wright
38Norfolk1Richard Barr

Each of the vacancies arises by the forthcoming retirement in rotation of the named Council member under Bye-Law 82(1).

Please note the following seats are casual vacancies and the term will expire as indicated:

Constituency No 9 - Croydon and North Kent (July 2019), and Constituency No 28 - Central Lancashire and Northern Greater Manchester (July 2019).

Non-geographical constituencies

Title of constituencyNo. of vacanciesCurrent member
Civil Litigation1Casual vacancy until 2021


Geographical constituencies

Nominations are invited from solicitors (who must be members of the Law Society) who have a registered address within the constituency concerned or who are members of the local law society in the constituency. Candidates must be nominated by two other Law Society members, who must have a registered address in the relevant constituency.

Non-geographical constituencies

For the Civil Litigation seat, candidates must be members of the Law Society with a registered work or home address in England and Wales and be listed as having Litigation-Commercial or Litigation-General as an area of law as a work category.

A description of a Council member's role and responsibilities, guidance notes for candidates and a nomination form are downloadable from our website.

If you have any queries please contact us at or by telephone on 020 8049 4109.

The Society wishes to encourage nominations from all eligible solicitors, irrespective of gender, ethnicity, age, sexual orientation or disability.

Nominations must be received by the Office of the Chief Executive, The Law Society, 113 Chancery Lane, London WC2A 1PL (DX 56Lon/Chancery Ln) not later than 12.00 on Tuesday 24 April 2018.

Term of office

The successful candidates will take office at the conclusion of the AGM on 5 July 2018.

The normal term of office of a Council member is four years except for the Junior Lawyers Division (trainee solicitors/LPC students) member, whose term is two years. Please note, however, that the Law Society is currently undertaking a governance review, as a result of which current arrangements may change in the future.


Successful candidates will be invited to an induction planned for the afternoon of Tuesday 25 September 2018 (the afternoon before the first Council meeting of the 2018/19 cycle).

Paul Tennant
Chief Executive

The Law Society's Hall
113 Chancery Lane
London WC2A 1PL