How to become a solicitor: a guide for international lawyers

Lawyers from abroad who wish to requalify in England and Wales can sit the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) – the same exams taken by solicitors who qualify domestically.

The Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE) replaced the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS) in September 2021.

This page covers:

If you’re an overseas student looking to qualify in England and Wales, read our careers page.

Unlike the QLTS, the SQE is open to candidates from all jurisdictions – not just those recognised by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA).

Introducing a single, final, centralised qualification exam has also brought England and Wales in line with most other jurisdictions. 

What are the requirements for foreign lawyers to requalify in England and Wales?

To requalify as solicitors in England and Wales, foreign lawyers need to:

Fully qualified foreign lawyers are exempt for any qualifying work experience (QWE) requirements.

Lawyers from Ukraine

The SRA welcomes applications from lawyers from Ukraine and is happy to discuss individual circumstances. It will make decisions on a case-by-case basis, using the available evidence.

Where it is difficult to access to certain documents required for the exam, alternative documentation can be used to support an application.

Read the SRA's guidance for qualified lawyers in jurisdictions where there is political unrest

Displaced Talent initiative

Talent Beyond Boundaries (TBB) is a global organisation that matches skilled refugees with employers.

They are working with the UK government on the Displaced Talent Initiative which will help firms and organisations employ skilled workers from displaced countries. 

Find out more.

What is the structure of the new exam?

The SQE is divided into two parts:

  • SQE1 consists of two exams in multiple-choice question format
  • SQE2 consists of a series of practical assessments of skills through written and oral examinations

Find out more about the SQE structure

How should I prepare?

Candidates are not required to complete any preparatory courses before sitting the SQE, nor to have any specific university degree.

However, taking an SQE preparation course may give you the best chance of passing the assessment.

Find an SQE training provider

How much does the SQE cost?

The total cost of the SQE assessments is £3,980, which breaks down as:

  • SQE1 – £1,558
  • SQE2 – £2,422

In addition, candidates may wish to take courses, or buy resources, to help them prepare for the SQE assessments.

Can I sit SQE1 outside England or Wales?

Yes. You can sit SQE1 at a range of test centres internationally.

Can I sit SQE2 outside England or Wales?

SQE2 written assessments will be available at a range of test centres internationally.

You'll need to sit SQE2 oral assessments in England and Wales over two and a half days.

Am I eligible for exemptions?

Lawyers qualified overseas can apply for exemption from the SQE on the basis of prior qualifications or experience.

You may seek exemption for one or more of the following parts of the SQE assessments:

  • SQE1 Functioning Legal Knowledge 1
  • SQE1 Functioning Legal Knowledge 2
  • SQE2

You'll need to show that your professional qualification is equivalent to the whole part of that assessment.

If exempt, you will not need to sit the corresponding SQE assessment(s) (see regulation 3.2 of the Authorisation of Individuals Regulations).

If you're granted an exemption from SQE2, you may need to prove your English or Welsh language competence.

Once an exemption is granted to a jurisdiction, lawyers qualified in that jurisdiction can apply to benefit from that agreed exemption.

You can apply for a new exemption or to benefit from an agreed exemption using the online form at mySRA. (You'll need a mySRA account to access the form.)

Foreign bars and law societies can also apply for SQE exemptions for their members by contacting the SRA education and training unit at

Find out more about exemptions and how to apply

See the list of exemptions granted so far or being considered

Irish solicitors

Irish solicitors are fully exempt from the SQE. They do not have to sit any examination in order to requalify in England and Wales, and can apply for admission with the SRA directly, after completing a pre-screening process.

Read more about exemptions

Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS)

It's no longer possible to start the QLTS requalification route.

From 1 September 2021, the SQE replaced the QLTS and is open to qualified lawyers from all jurisdictions.

If you've already started the QLTS and passed the multiple-choice test, you can still complete your qualification by taking the SQE2 assessment during 2023.

You'll then have until 31 March 2024 (inclusive) to apply for admission as a solicitor.

How to complete your qualification via QLTS

Find out more about the SQE

SQE requirements and cost

Career advice 

Book your assessment by registering with the SRA

If you have any questions, email

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS