How to practise in the Republic of Ireland after the Brexit transition period

The UK left the EU single market and customs union at the end of the Brexit transition period on 31 December 2020.

The EU Lawyers Directives no longer apply to UK solicitors and law firms, and freedom of movement to the EU has come to an end.

Different rules on practising rights, immigration, visa and work permit requirements apply in each EU member state.

Conditions for UK solicitors to practise under home title after the end of the transition period

There’s no foreign legal consultant (FLC) status in Ireland.

However, those without Irish legal qualifications (including non-EU lawyers) can carry out non-reserved legal services provided that they do not hold themselves out as or use the title of ‘Irish solicitor’. 

Solicitors of England and Wales may therefore practise in Ireland under their home title and:

  • practise English law
  • carry out non-reserved legal services in Irish and EU law
  • practise public international law
  • represent clients in arbitration, conciliation or mediation
  • enjoy legal privilege over correspondence with clients

Solicitors of England and Wales cannot:

  • use the title of Irish solicitor
  • carry out reserved legal services including probate, litigation or conveyancing work
  • appear before the courts in Ireland

All UK nationals have a right under the Common Travel Area to live in Ireland.


Law Society of Ireland

If you have any questions, email our international team at

The information above does not constitute legal advice. It was drafted by the Law Society of England and Wales on the basis of desk research, bilateral relations with European Bars and engagement with members.

The Law Society cannot be held liable for actions taken on the basis of this note or lack thereof. In case of specific queries, we strongly advise you to consider instructing external counsel to obtain advice specific to your business objectives.

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS