Doing legal business in Kyrgyzstan

The Kyrgyz Republic (Kyrgyzstan) is a landlocked country in Central Asia, located along the Silk Road, the ancient trade route between China and the Mediterranean.

Kyrgyzstan is a former member of the USSR, declaring its independence in 1991 during the breakup of the Soviet bloc.

It’s a parliamentary representative democratic republic under the 1993 constitution. The president acts as head of state and the prime minister is the head of government.

Kyrgyzstan shares borders with:

  • Kazakhstan
  • China
  • Tajikistan
  • Uzbekistan

It's a member of the Commonwealth of Independent States, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, and the United Nations.

Practising in Kyrgyzstan

Only nationals of Kyrgyzstan can be granted a licence to practise advocacy by the Ministry of Justice of the Kyrgyz Republic.

Foreign lawyers can practise as foreign legal consultants in non-regulated practice areas.

Sign up to continue reading

My LS gives you exclusive access to the latest news, events, books and resources to help you excel within your practice.

Already have an account? Log in

Sign up

Maximise your Law Society membership with My LS