Access to Justice Committee

Access to Justice Committee

The role of the Access to Justice Committee is:

  • to keep under review, and to advise on, policy formulation and negotiations with the LAA (and any successor body), the Ministry of Justice and the wider government and to promote improvements in the availability and operation of legal aid and in access to justice
  • to provide support to practitioners providing or aspiring to provide publicly funded work, in particular through advice, lobbying and practice notes
  • to consider and promote alternative methods of access to justice in conjunction with other relevant committees.

Who to contact

Governance officer/secretary: Jessica Griffiths
Policy adviser: Simon Cliff
Head of justice: Richard Miller


  • Carol Storer (chair)
  • Jenny Beck
  • John Bottomley
  • Scott Bowen (CM)
  • Johanna Hickman
  • Linda Lee (CM)
  • Cris McCurley
  • Stephane Osbourne
  • Christopher Simmonds
  • Jacky White
  • Paul Yates
Related pages